I recently installed Pi-Hole as an ad-blocking service on our home network – it’s working quite well and I’m truly impressed!

While on holiday recently I thought it would be quite “cool” to have VPN access to our network at home and came across the following article – “How to turn your Raspberry Pi into a Home VPN Server using PiVPN” using PiVPN.

Installing PiVPN on the same Raspberry Pi I’m running Pi-Hole on seemed like a good idea (and it IS a supported installation).

So needless to say, once we got back from holiday I had a quick look at the article and followed the instructions. Within a very short period of time I had a PiVPN (OpenVPN) server running on our network and just had to configure our router for port-forwarding.

I’ve also signed up for the free option from noip.com to make it easier for us to connect to our VPN at home.

NOTE: One tweak I added to our configuration was to edit the /etc/dnsmasq.conf file to ensure that when I connect to the VPN that my clients would also have ad-blocking enabled 🙂

For more detail on this, refer to the FAQ for the PiVPN software.

Installation was quick & easy!

Have fun !

